Entries finalised for FIVB Tokyo Beach Volleyball Qualification tournament

Lausanne, Switzerland, September 13, 2019 - The teams participating in next week's FIVB Tokyo Beach Volleyball Qualification tournament in China have been finalised with 32 pairs from 19 countries scheduled to compete in the five-day event at Haiyang.

Since the initial announcement of participants on August 20, a men’s team from Poland was altered with Piotr Kantor replacing Michal Bryl as Bartosz Losiak’s partner and Germany's Julius Thole/Clemens Wickler were replaced by Nils Ehlers and Lars Fluggen.

The women’s changes have Katarzyna Kociolek/Kinga Wojtasik of Poland replacing Slovakia’s Natalia Dubovcova/Andrea Strbova in the field while Australians Nicole Laird/Becchara Palmer fill in for compatriots Mariafe Artacho/Taliqua Clancy.

The FIVB Tokyo Beach Volleyball Qualification Tournament begins on Wednesday and concludes on September 21 for men and September 22 for women in Haiyang where host China will have one men’s and one women's team competing in the competition.

With a maximum of one team per country, the 16 teams per gender will be seeking two quota places for their NOC/NF at the beach volleyball tournament of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

With the pool makeup and the schedule of matches to be announced, here is a list of participating teams in the FIVB Tokyo Beach Volleyball Qualification Tournament

Robin Seidl/Philipp Waller, Austria
Andre Loyola/George Wanderley, Brazil
Sam Pedlow/Sam Schachter, Canada
Esteban Grimalt/Marco Grimalt, Chile
Peng Gao/Yang Li, China
Ondrej Perusic/David Schweiner, Czech Republic
Nils Ehlers/Lars Fluggen, Germany
Daniele Lupo/Paolo Nicolai, Italy
Martins Plavins/Edgars Tocs, Latvia
Alexander Brouwer/Robert Meeuwsen, Netherlands
Mathias Berntsen/Hendrik Mol, Norway
Piotr Kantor/Bartosz Losiak, Poland
Cherif Samba/Ahmed Tijan, Qatar
Ilya Leshukov/Konstantin Semenov, Russia
Adrian Gavira/Pablo Herrera, Spain
Mirco Gerson/Adrian Heidrich, Switzerland

Nicole Laird/Becchara Palmer, Australia
Lena Plesiutschnig/Katharina Schutzenhofer, Austria
Carolina Horta/Angela Lavalle, Brazil
Heather Bansley/Brandie Wilkerson, Canada
Fan Wang/Xinyi Xia, China
Barbora Hermannova/Marketa Slukova, Czech Republic
Taru Lahti/Anniina Parkkinen, Finland
Sandra Ittlinger/Chantal Laboureur, Germany
Marta Menegatti/Viktoria Orsi Toth, Italy
Miki Ishii/Megumi Murakami, Japan
Tina Graudina/Anastasija Kravcenoka, Latvia
Sanne Keizer/Madelein Meppelink, Netherlands
Katarzyna Kociolek/Kinga Wojtasik, Poland
Mariia Bocharova/Maria Voronina, Russia
Elsa Baquerizo/Liliana Fernandez, Spain
Joana Heidrich/Anouk Verge-Depre, Switzerland


All the News